50 Book Challenge: I did it!…Just.

Published March 2, 2013 by ElisaChristy

As I started the 50 book challenge on 1st March last year, I had wanted to try and finish by January, so I could start again in the new year, but that didn’t work, as I am one of those people who reads constantly, but doesn’t read very fast.

However, considering that during this year I also graduated, went travelling around Europe for a month, and that seven of the books I read were from the Game of Thrones series which could easily be a year long challenge on their own. I will do the 50 book challenge again this year.

One of the most interesting things I found was the amount of books I got given by people who knew I was doing this. Either books they’d read and liked or had bought for me as presents as they thought I would like them. The other interesting thing was how much more I paid attention to what I was going to read next, I would actively seek out books, rather than just paying attention to the one I was reading. For the first time since I was about 14, I have had a To Read pile on my desk all year, and I miss my To Read pile!

 

So, this year I am starting the 50 book challenge with Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

:DSCN0274[1]

2 comments on “50 Book Challenge: I did it!…Just.

  • Well done! I set myself a challenge of 100 books for 2013 – I have a 45 minute commute to work so manage to get through at least 1 book a week with very little real effort. I am up to 9 so far, but only really started at the end of January.

    Good luck with getting to 50 by the end of the year. If you want any ideas for reading material, check out my blog. I am writing a short review of each one I read.

  • Always happy to see someone so enthusiastic to read. I decided to make my New Year’s Resolution to read 75, and I think 50 may perhaps have been a better ambition. Haha If you’re interested, I will be trying to review every book I read this year on my blog. Perhaps I can give you an idea or two on what to add to your “To Read” pile! Either way, good luck with your challenge and I hope you succeed and enjoy the process.

  • Leave a Reply

