The Lord of The Rings Book is How Long!?

Published April 20, 2013 by ElisaChristy

1077 pages is how long, or at least my (mother’s) copy is. As the copy I’m reading is actually all three of the books: Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers and Return of The King in one.

I know, it’s terrible that I am only just reading The Lord of The Rings now, after so long, and after having seen the films about 6 times each, and seeing and reading The Hobbit, but I am reading it now, all 1077 pages if it.although it might take me the rest of the year to do so…

I have actually tried to read The Lord of The Rings before, when I was about 12, but I stopped, I think it was because the Elvish confused me, but now I am older, and know J.R.R Tolkien used his interest in linguistics and languages to write the Elvish, I feel compelled to read it again, as I do have a degree in linguistics after all, and anything baed in etymology, as so much of J.R.R Tolkien’s work is – he worked on the original Oxford English dictionary after all – in my mind is at least worth reading, even if I don’t remember it later.

The only other thing I have to decide is whether or not, the copy I have counts as one book or three? It can be bought as three books after all, but when I have read it, will I have read one book or three?

Just in case you don’t believe me

 

 

2 comments on “The Lord of The Rings Book is How Long!?

  • The copy you are reading has cover artwork by Pauline Baynes and is very rare and difficult to get hold of. You should keep it and try and protect the cover. Her art is currently going through a re-evaluation. I am envious.

  • Leave a Reply

