The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led The Revels There (Catherynne M. Valente) Book Review

Published May 12, 2014 by ElisaChristy

Video review of this book can be found here.

So I have finished my first book for the Bout of Books Read-a-thon, though I did start this book a few weeks ago, which is how I could finish it on the first day.

The story is the second in the series following September and her adventures in Fairyland, though it is more a continuation rather than a sequel to the first book.

“‘I think…that in my world, folk agree to a kind of marrying season, when it comes to marrying. Some agree to be hunted and some agree to be hunters. And some don’t agree to be anything at all.”

The first book ended with us being reminded that September had lost her shadow, so in this book her quest in Fairyland is related to retrieving it. Her shadow fell beneath Fairyland and became Halloween the Hollow Queen. Shadows in Fairyland, when they have fallen away from their body become more solid and alive, and they have in them all the things that their body wants to be and do but will not out of fear, so September’s shadow is braver than her.

“What was a person, if not the things they knew and the faces they wore?”

While I am not sure if I like this book as much as the first one in the series I think the overall story is stronger and it carries on a lot from the first book showing the rules of Fairyland, that can be related to any book of this genre, such as the power of First Kisses and the fact that First Borns were very valued currency until they were devalued because market trader’s ended up with too many mouths to feed.

“Hearts are idiots. They’re big and squishy and full of daft dreams. They flounce off to write poetry and moon at folk who aren’t worth the mooning.”

The writing style as well, while still very fairytale and magically written seems to be a bit more structured than in the first book, but there are many more characters and things to introduce in this book that I think a lot of the fairytale-like writing may have been cut out to accommodate that, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

“Friends can go odd on you and do things you don’t like, but that doesn’t make them strangers.”

The book still has, like the first one, many many lines and phrases I want to quote – more than I can legitimately put in this review – and i know it is a book I will read many times again, as I’m sure I will the third one When I bet around to reading it.

One comment on “The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led The Revels There (Catherynne M. Valente) Book Review

Leave a Reply

