Bout of Books 13.0 Read-a-thon Update Post

Published May 11, 2015 by julietstubborn

Monday:

Pages read today: 102

Total number of pages read: 102

Notes: I have been reading Dracula by Bram Stoker, I started the book before the read-a-thon and am currently on page 148. I may be able to finish the book tomorrow provided I get up early enough to do everything else I need to do tomorrow (I recently moved house and have still not unpacked…)

Tuesday: Pages read today: 119

Total number of pages read: 221

Notes: I doubt I will be able to finish Dracula today after all but I would be surprised if I don’t manage to finish the book tomorrow instead as I am now more than half-way through the book and have finished unpacking! (for the most part anyway) So don’t have to worry about that taking up my time tomorrow. I probably still won’t have much time to read during the day but my evening should be fairly un-interrupted. I am also going to try and participate in the challenge tomorrow.

Wednesday:

Pages read today: 139

Total number of pages read: 360

Books finished: Dracula by Bram Stoker

Notes: Now I have finished Dracula, which it turns out is a lot more elaborate story than I thought it would be before I started, I am hoping to spend time tomorrow reading a few pages of the Lonely Planet New Zealand guide I have (I will be moving there in a month’s time) and will start my kindle edition of Rogues which has many authors including George R.R Martin, Gillian Flynn and Neil Gaiman.

Thursday:

Pages read today: 106

Total number of pages read: 466

Challenge: Today’s challenge is to share one book that you think will still be a classic in 100 years time (and is also published after 2005) and two reasons for your choice.

Answer:  I’m going for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente. The reasons I have for this choice are:

1. The fairytale nature of the book means it is already timeless and could easily be read at any time, past present or future.

2. The book blends so many elements of stories and fairytales everyone already knows and mixes them with new elements that in 100 years time, I could easily see it being a classic alongside The Chronicles of Narnia which did the same thing of blending known stories with new ideas.

Notes: Today I have been switching between my Lonely Planet New Zealand guide and have read the first story in Rogues leaving only another 20 to go! I’d be very surprised if I managed to finish another book during this read-a-thon as Rogues is 832 pages long and I’m on page 48 (at least that’s my estimate as I have a kindle version and there are no page numbers) and my NZ guidebook is 673 pages long and I’m on page 92. (and guidebooks aren’t really the kind of thing you read front to back anyway) I will have more time over the next few days than I have had so far though so it might not be impossible to finish one of these two books. I may even start reading a completely different book and finish that one instead.

Friday:

Pages read: 245

Total number of pages read: 711

Books finished: Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Notes: I started and finished Fahrenheit 451 today as I am going to a performance based on the book tomorrow and having never read it before, thought it might be a good idea to at least start the book. As I managed to finish it as well then tomorrow will be back to Rogues and the Lonely Planet New Zealand guide!

Saturday:

Pages read: 33

Total number of pages read: 744

Notes: Today was the busiest day I’ve had during the read-a-thon having been out of the house for the majority of the day and unable to read as I was with other people all day. I would like to try and get to 1000 pages tomorrow and as far as I know I don’t have to leave the house or talk to anyone tomorrow so it wouldn’t be impossible. I did take part in my first twitter chat earlier today and while it may have been my first it will definitely not be my last!

Sunday:

Pages read: 108

Total number of pages read: 852

Total books finished: 2 (Dracula by Bram Stoker and Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury)

Notes: So I didn’t manage to make it to 100 pages over the course of the week, but I think 852 pages is still pretty good. I think concentrating on the number of pages I was reading rather than how many books I was finishing did help me as it meant I didn’t feel compelled to finish a book just so I had finished a book but instead could flip between two or three books as I got bored of each. Now I just have to wait until October for the next read-a-thon!

3 comments on “Bout of Books 13.0 Read-a-thon Update Post

  • Neil Gaiman is phenomenal. Would definitely read anything that had his writing in it! Dracula is a pretty great read too. I’m glad so many people are into it! Someone else in the read-a-thon also read it this go-round.

    Great progress! Read on!

    My B.O.B Updates

  • I’ve never read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, but now I want to. Anything that can be compared to Narnia has to be good in my opinion. Thanks for participating in today’s challenge, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the readathon!

  • Leave a Reply

