Bout of Books 14 Update Post

Published August 17, 2015 by ElisaChristy

Monday:

Pages read today: 111

Total pages read: 111

Notes: I have been reading The Man in The Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas on my kindle, I started the book before the read-a-thon and should be able to finish the book tomorrow easily enough. I thought the book was a standalone story but as it turns out it is part of the D’Artagnan romances which consist of 4 books  starting with The Three Musketeers, however while I have not read any of the other books in the series (yet) the story is still easy enough to follow.

I was hoping to take part in the twitter chat today too, but due to me currently being in New Zealand the time zones are way off for me and Monday’s twitter chat will actually be happening at 1pm on Tuesday, this would be fine if I weren’t going to be at work at 1pm on Tuesday, I may be on my lunch break so may be able to join in on my phone, but seeing as the other twitter chat happens at 3am my time, then this is the better one for me to take part in!

Tuesday:

Pages read today: 172

Total pages read: 283

Books finished: The Man in The Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas

Notes: After finishing The Man in The Iron Mask, I have been reading My Family For The War by Anne C. Voorhoeve, a story about a girl who is sent to England from Germany on the kinder transport during World War Two, I am not that far into the story yet so don’t know much more about it, but from what I have read so far it is definitely interesting.

I also missed the twitter chat that was on at 1pm today in my time zone, so I will have to try again and take part in the one that is at 3am in my time zone! Good thing that one will happen on a Saturday when I don’t have to be at work!

Wednesday:

Pages read today: 303

Total pages read: 586

Books finished: My Family For The War by Anne C. Voorhoeve

Notes: Having finished My Family For The War I have to say it is a remarkable story, it reminds me a little of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, although this story takes place mainly in England rather than Germany. The books were first published only a year apart from each other with The Book Thief being released first in 2006 and this story in 2007.

Tomorrow I will be starting to read slightly more happy stories as I start The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester and The Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot which I am very excited to read even though it’s been about ten years since I did actually last read The Princess Diaries but I’ll remember enough right?

Thursday:

Pages read today: 175

Total pages read: 761

Notes: Have started reading Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot and The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester. Tomorrow and the weekend I am off work, so I should easily finish both these books before the end of the read-a-thon but don’t know if I’ll be able to complete any others. I am also hoping to either tomorrow or Saturday take part in at least one challenge as I so far haven’t managed to do any and as I am off work I may be able to wake myself up at 3am for the twitter chat on Saturday!

Friday:

Pages read today: 293

Total pages read: 1054

Books finished: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

Notes: The twitter chat for me will actually be happening at 3am on Sunday so I obviously haven’t quite got the hang of the time zones yet, but I will try to join in! Also this is the first time in any read-a-thon I have taken part in that I have read over 1000 pages!

Saturday:

Pages read today: 73

Total pages read: 1127

Notes: So yesterday I seem to have reached my high point of the read-a-thon and didn’t get anywhere near as much reading done today.

Leave a Reply

